How to make sense of it?

Trying to make sense of it…
It is almost Christmas 2013. I am approaching my 2 year Cancerverssary, a milestone I am blessed to be making. My friend Mike was diagnosed with Colon Cancer a month or so before I found out about my own cancer. He was 48 and I was 57 when we found out. He and Felicia have 4 amazing daughters and John and I have 2 awesome sons. When he told us about his cancer we were shocked but could not really take it in, and probably didn’t want to. That was something that happened to someone else, not us. Besides, he would beat it we were sure. Soon thereafter John and I were at the oncology center getting our own dose of terrible reality when Mike and Felicia walked by. We were excited to see each other for a moment until we all realized that this was not a happy meeting. We were still reeling with shock, and Mike was getting ready for a big dose of chemo. Mike and I would sit on the front porch in the early days of diagnosis and talk about what our hopes and fears were.
Mike died today, two years later. Felicia has been by his side and handled this last stage with breathtaking grace and courage. Their children are hanging on to whatever they can emotionally grab. I am heartbroken for them. I am in awe of how Mike lived in spite of this awful cancer beast and of the dignity with which he faced his leaving.
I am very grateful for my life and I cherish every minute of it. I truly wish Mike didn’t have to leave so soon. I am confused today, and hoping Mike’s family will find a way to higher ground now that he has crossed over. Tell the people you love how important they are to you, and look for someone you can help today, someone looking for higher ground in the storm. That is what Mike would have done.

One response to “How to make sense of it?

Leave a comment